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Does a Mother’s Age and Marital Status at Birth
 Affect the Probability that Her Child Will Have a Juvenile Court Record?

The Washington Legislature in 1994 directed the Washington State Institute for Public Policy to
study juvenile violence, teen pregnancy, and other at-risk behaviors of youth.1  The Institute
was instructed to analyze trends in these behaviors and evaluate the cost-effectiveness of
Washington’s efforts to achieve measurable reductions in violence and at-risk behaviors.  This
research brief is part of the Institute’s plan to provide the Legislature and other interested
persons with up-to-date findings on these topics.

Background    Our recent report analyzed long-run trends in at-risk behaviors of youth in
Washington, and provided statistics on three specific behaviors: juvenile violence, teen
pregnancy, and the percentage of births to unmarried women.2  The report showed that the
rate of juvenile criminal violence in Washington increased substantially from 1983 to 1994:  the
arrest rate of 10- to 17-year-old juveniles for serious violent offenses more than doubled,
increasing 165 percent.

The report also showed that the rate of births to teenagers in Washington has been fairly stable
over the last quarter century.  The major demographic change in recent decades has not been
the teenage birthrate; rather, the significant shift has been the increase in the percentage of
births to teenagers who are unmarried.  For 15- to 17-year-old females giving birth in 1960, 18
percent were not married; by 1994, the unmarried rate had climbed to 87 percent for this age
group.  For 18- and 19-year-old females giving birth in 1960, 6 percent were not married; in
1994, 66 percent were not married.

Two Study Questions    This research brief addresses two questions pertaining to juvenile
violence:

1. Does a mother’s age  and her marital status  at the time she gives birth affect
the chance that her child will subsequently have a juvenile court record,
especially for violent offenses?  In particular, do the children of teenage or
unmarried mothers get into more trouble with the law than the children of older or
married mothers?

2. Can information on a mother’s age and her marital status at the time of birth be
used to predict  whether her child will subsequently have a juvenile record?  How
accurate would such a prediction be?

1 RCW 70.190.050.
2 Steve Aos, Roxanne Lieb, and Robert Barnoski, Washington State Institute for Public Policy, (January 1996), Trends in At-Risk

Behaviors of Youth in Washington.
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Approach    The University of Washington’s School of Public Health, working in collaboration
with the Washington State Institute for Public Policy, undertook a research study into these
questions.  Data were gathered from the Washington State Department of Health on the birth
certificates issued in this state from 1971 to 1975.  These birth records were then “matched” to
information from the Office of the Administrator for the Courts on the juvenile court records of
youth in Washington from 1984 to 1993.  Tabulations were made between the characteristics of
mothers at the time of birth (from the birth certificates) and whether a child subsequently had
an adjudicated offense as a juvenile (from the court records).  An analysis of the statistical
significance of the relationships was performed.

Two classes of juvenile offenders are examined in this research brief: juveniles with ANY type
of offense adjudicated by a juvenile court, and juveniles with a SERIOUS VIOLENT offense
adjudicated by a juvenile court.  In this study, “serious violent” offenses are defined as murder,
rape, robbery, and aggravated assault—the categories of offenses the FBI uses to define
violent crime.

Finding:    A mother’s marital status and age at the time of birth are significantly related
to—but are not strongly predictive of—whether her child subsequently acquires a
juvenile court record.

• A mother’s marital status at the time of birth is statistically significant.   Mothers who
were not married at the time of birth had a greater chance of having a child who
subsequently acquired a juvenile court record than mothers who were married at the time of
birth.  Figure 1 shows that this basic finding prevailed for all age groups of mothers.  It also
held for juveniles with any type of offense as well as for juveniles with serious violent
offenses.  For example, Figure 1 shows that 3 percent of the children born to unmarried
mothers under the age of 18, subsequently acquired an adjudication for a serious violent
offense from a juvenile court—compared to 1.7 percent of juveniles with married mothers
under 18.

• A mother’s age at the time of birth is statistically significant in some cases.   For
married women, the older the mother was at the time of birth, the lower the chance that her
child subsequently developed a juvenile court record.  Figure 1 shows, for example, that
28.7 percent of the children born to married women 18 or 19 years old subsequently had a
juvenile court record compared to 20.6 percent of the children born to married women 25 to
29 years.  However, the age of an unmarried mother did not mitigate the chance of her child
acquiring a subsequent juvenile court record.

• While a mother’s age and marital status at the time she gave birth were statistically
significant, they made only a modest improvement in the ability to predict which children
subsequently acquired a juvenile court record and which did not.  Of all children born in
Washington in 1971 to 1975, 24.4 percent subsequently had a juvenile court record for any
offense, and 1.0 percent had a serious violent offense.  Therefore, we could accurately
predict—without knowing anything about a mother’s age or marital status—that 24.4
percent of children would have a juvenile court record.  For women unmarried or under the
age of 20 at the time of birth, 32.7 percent of their children had a juvenile court record for
any offense, and 2.0 percent had a serious violent offense.  Thus, knowing a woman’s age
and marital status at the time of birth would allow us to improve our predictive accuracy
from 24.4 percent to 32.7 percent.
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A Mother's Age and Marital Status at the Time of Giving Birth
Are Related to Her Child's Chance of Having a

Subsequent Juvenile Court Record

Unmarried Mothers

Unmarried
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Married Mothers

Married
Mothers

How to Read: 37 percent of the children born to
unmarried mothers under the age of 18 subsequently
acquired a juvenile court record for ANY offense,
compared to 32.9 percent of the children born to
married mothers under the age of 18.

Figure 1

Mother's Age at Time of Her Child's Birth

Source: Washington State Institute for Public Policy with data from the Washington Department of Health
and the Office of the Administrator for the Courts.
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Juveniles With A Court Record for ANY Offense

Juveniles With A Court Record
for a SERIOUS VIOLENT Offense
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Limitations of the Study    This study tracked the children born in Washington State between
1971 and 1975 and whether, in their teenage years from 1984 to 1993, they had  juvenile court
records.  The only information used to analyze these juveniles was that recorded on their birth
certificates and whether they had a subsequent juvenile court record.  No additional
information on what happened to this group of juveniles between their birth and their teenage
years was available for this study.

Because of this lack of additional data, one should be cautious in interpreting the two factors
looked at in this study: a mother’s age and marital status at the time she gave birth.  For
example, it would be helpful to know if married or unmarried mothers at the time of birth
subsequently divorced or remarried and how these events influence the future offending
activity of their children.  It would also be useful to know more about the educational levels of
the mothers and the economic backgrounds of the children—which grew up in low income
families and which were well off?  A mother’s age or marital status at the time she gives birth
may be measuring some of these missing factors, but we cannot be certain.

This lack of information is the main reason why this study concludes that a mother’s marital
status and age at the time of birth are significantly related to—but are not strongly predictive
of—whether her child subsequently acquires a juvenile court record for any offense, or for
violent offenses.

NOTE:  In this paper, we analyze how the marital status of mothers relates to subsequent
juvenile offending patterns of her child.  We do not mean to imply that fathers are excluded
from parenting behaviors or responsibilities.  We refer to mothers because the information on
the birth certificates we collected from the Department of Health only lists the “marital status of
mother” and does not contain data on the marital status of the father.

In future research reports, the Institute will present additional information on how changes in
the structure of families and other factors affect the rate of juvenile offending and at-risk
behaviors of youth in Washington.  For further information, contact Robert Barnoski or Steve
Aos at the Institute—(360) 866-6000, ext. 6380.

Washington State Institute for Public Policy

The Washington Legislature created the Washington State Institute for Public Policy in 1983.  A
Board of Directors—representing the Legislature, the governor, and public universities—governs
the Institute, hires the director, and guides the development of all activities.  The Institute’s
mission is to carry out practical research, at legislative direction, on issues of importance to
Washington State.


