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SEX OFFENDER REGISTRATION: 
A REVIEW OF STATE LAWS 

Revised July 1996 
 
EXECUTIVE SUMMARY 
 
Sex offender registration laws require offenders to supply their addresses, and other 
identifying information, to a state agency or law enforcement with the intent of increasing 
community protection. 
Fifty states now require sex offenders to register; twenty-six states passed their laws from 
1994 to 1996.  Massachusetts is the last state to pass a sex offender registration law, a 
final version of the bill has yet to be agreed to.  Federal legislation, known as “Megan’s 
Law,” has also been passed. 

Legal challenges to registration laws have resulted in decisions upholding their 
constitutionality.  Courts have found that registration is not a form of punishment, and 
therefore not subject to the Eighth Amendment prohibition against cruel and unusual 
punishment.  In California, where registration has been examined as a form of punishment, 
the courts have found it not to be cruel and unusual. 

Sex offender registration statutes conform in many respects: 

• The registry is usually maintained by a state agency. 

• Generally, local law enforcement is responsible for collecting information and forwarding 
it to the administrating state agency. 

• Typical information obtained includes an offender's name, address, fingerprints, photo, 
date of birth, social security number, criminal history, place of employment, and vehicle 
registration.  Eight states also collect blood samples for DNA identification; Michigan 
includes a DNA profile in the registry if available. 

• The timeframe for initial registration varies from "prior to release" or "immediately" to 
one year; the most common timeframe being 30 days or less. 

• In most states, the duration of the registration requirement is over 10 years, with 15 
states requiring lifetime registration in all or some instances.  Most states requiring 
lifetime registration allow the offender to petition the courts for relief from this duty. 

• Most registries are updated only when an offender notifies law enforcement that they 
have changed residences.  Seven states have annual address verification; for some 
offenders verification is required every 90 days. 

• Sixteen states specify that registry information is available only to law enforcement and 
related investigative authorities.  The remaining states allow broader access, ranging 
from criminal background checks for agencies hiring individuals to work with children, to 
full public access and community notification. 
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INTRODUCTION 
 
In recent years, state legislatures across the country have examined their sexual assault 
laws to find ways to increase community protection.  Most have attempted to strengthen 
existing laws by requiring released sex offenders to register with law enforcement or state 
agencies.  With the passage of Massachusetts’ sex offender legislation1 all fifty states now 
have such a requirement. 
 
As part of the federal crime bill approved by Congress in August 1994, the Jacob Wetterling 
Crimes Against Children and Sexually Violent Offender Registration Act encourages states 
to create registries of offenders convicted of crimes against children or sexually violent 
offenses.  States which do not create registries within the next three years will face a ten 
percent reduction in their federal crime control grant.  With the federal passage of “Megan’s 
Law,”2 states are also encouraged to include community notification in their statutes or face 
the same consequences. 
 
Do registration laws increase community protection?  This paper describes the debates 
surrounding this issue, and summarizes key elements of state laws.3 
 
 
POLICY AND DEBATE 
 
A sex offender registration law requires that offenders supply their address and other 
identifying information to local law enforcement or a state agency.  Typically, the offender 
must register following release from confinement and/or during community supervision.  
Laws in most states apply to convicted sex offenders; some states' laws also apply to 
individuals found by a judge to have committed a sex offense (for instance, under a finding 
of not guilty by reason of insanity).  Minnesota extends the requirement to individuals 
charged with a sex offense, whether or not convicted. 
 
Information maintained on the registry varies by state, but at a minimum includes the name, 
address, and a law enforcement identification number.  Some states collect very detailed 
information, which may include blood samples for DNA identification, employment 
information, residence history, and vehicle registration numbers.  In all cases, the offender 
is responsible for supplying accurate information, and is penalized for noncompliance. 
 

                     
1 As of 7/19/96, legislative leaders had agreed to pass a bill but the specifics were still under discussion. 
For more information contact: Margot Friedman, Counsel; Senator Antonioni, Senate Chamber, State 
House, Boston, MA 02133.  Phone: (617) 722-1230. 
2 H.R. 2137, 104th Cong., 2d Sess. (1996). 
3 Information was collected March - April 1992, September - October 1993, September 1994 - January 
1995, and February - June 1996 from states known to have sex offender registries.  Informants were 
administrators, legislative research staff, legal counsel, or law enforcement officials, as appropriate.  This 
report also uses information provided by the National Center for Missing & Exploited Children in Arlington, 
VA, and the National Center for Prosecution of Child Abuse in Alexandria, VA, which has compiled a 
report entitled Legislation Requiring Sex Offenders to Register with a Government Agency.    
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Sex offender registration is a controversial subject, with one side arguing that it contributes 
to public safety, and the other side arguing that it impinges on individual rights and is a step 
toward a "Big Brother" society.  These arguments are summarized below. 
 
 
ARGUMENTS FOR REGISTRATION 
 
The typical legislative goals are summarized well in the sex offender registration bill passed 
by the 1994 Alaska Legislature: 
 
  The legislature finds that:  (1) sex offenders pose a high risk of 

reoffending after release from custody, (2) protecting the public from sex 
offenders is a primary governmental interest, (3) the privacy interests of 
persons convicted of sex offenses are less important than the government's 
interest in public safety, and (4) release of certain information about sex 
offenders to public agencies and the general public will assist in protecting 
the public safety. 

 
Supporters of sex offender registration argue that it contributes to public safety by: 
 
Creating a registry to assist law enforcement in investigation: 
 

Once created, the registry becomes a tool that law enforcement uses to solve 
crimes or, ideally, to prevent them.  If a sex offense is committed and no suspect 
is located, the registry can be used to identify potential suspects who live in the area, 
or who have a pattern of similar crimes.  States vary in their decisions on which 
offenders to include in the registry:  some register sex offenders with child victims 
(Arkansas, Georgia, Illinois, Indiana, Iowa, Maine, Maryland, and Wyoming); some 
register only the most serious categories of offenders (Florida, Hawaii, Illinois, 
Kansas, Kentucky, Pennsylvania, Virginia, and Wyoming) or repeat offenders 
(Arkansas, Florida and Ohio); and some register all sex offenders, regardless of the 
seriousness of the crime or the age of the victim.  California and Montana register 
arsonists in addition to sex offenders.  California also registers narcotics offenders. 
In addition to its 1993 sex offender registration law, Florida has maintained a registry 
of all felony offenders since 1957. 
 

Establishing legal grounds to hold known offenders: 
 

Registration laws also create legal grounds to hold sex offenders who do not 
comply with registration and are later found in suspicious circumstances.  For 
example, if a convicted sex offender is observed loitering around a playground, and 
when stopped by the police is found not to have registered, the offender can be 
charged and prosecuted for failure to register.  Law enforcement representatives 
often argue that registration laws, thus, prevent crimes because the police can 
intervene before a potential victim is harmed.  Therefore, some states pass a 
registration law without expecting a high rate of voluntary compliance, but still 
anticipate a law enforcement benefit. 
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Deterring sex offenders from committing new offenses: 
 

Another intended effect of registration is psychological.  Once registered, 
offenders know they are being monitored.  Many lawmakers argue that such 
knowledge discourages sex offenders from reoffending.  Also, some lawmakers 
believe that a registration requirement will deter potential first-time sex offenders. 

 
Offering citizens information: 
 

Access to the registry, or the active release of information by law enforcement 
or school districts, is intended as a means of citizen protection, particularly for 
parents to protect their children.  Sixteen of the states with registration limit 
access to this information to law enforcement and related investigative authorities.  
The remaining states allow various levels of public access, ranging from background 
checks for potential employees/volunteers who work with children, to full public 
access. 

 
 
ARGUMENTS AGAINST REGISTRATION 
 
Several arguments against sex offender registration often surface during legislative 
deliberations.  These arguments can be summarized as follows: 
 
Civil Liberties: 
 
 Registration programs are inconsistent with the goals of a society committed 

to protecting individual liberties.   Registration is a step toward a "Big Brother" 
society, or a violation of offenders' rights.  Released sex offenders have paid their 
debt to society and must not be subjected to further punishment. 

 
Offender Motivation:   
 
 By forcing sex offenders to register, society sends a message to these 

individuals that they are not to be trusted, that they are bad and dangerous 
people.  Such a message can work against efforts to rehabilitate offenders, and 
inadvertently encourage antisocial behaviors.  The offender can use the law to 
rationalize further crimes:  "If society thinks I'm a permanent threat, I guess I am and 
there's nothing I can do to stop myself." 

 
 Registration laws encourage sex offenders to evade the attention of law 

enforcement.  Some sex offenders, choosing not to comply with the law, will 
conceal their whereabouts, making the investigation of sexual assaults more difficult. 
  

 
Public Safety:   
 

Registration creates a false sense of security.  Citizens may rely too heavily on 
the registry, not realizing that the majority of sex offenders never appear on 
registration lists.  The reasons are many:  only a small proportion of sex crimes are 
reported, and an even smaller number result in convictions; many offenders plea-
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bargain to nonsexual offenses; sex offender registration laws can apply to limited 
categories of offenders; and, many offenders were convicted prior to passage of the 
law.  In addition, not all offenders register.  For these reasons, only a small 
percentage of sex offenders actually appear on any list. 

 
 Registration of sex offenders implies that these offenders are the most 

dangerous, whereas other types of offenders present similar or greater risks.  
How helpful is it for someone to know that a convicted sex offender lives next door, 
as compared to knowing that a neighbor is a convicted murderer, drug dealer, or 
armed robber? 

 
Registration will encourage citizen vigilantism.  In states where the registration 
list is public, citizens may threaten and take action against offenders.  The 
harassment may also be extended to family members of offenders.4 

 

 
Victim Consequences:   
 
 If made public, a list of registered sex offenders may inadvertently disclose the 

identity of incest victims.  In cases of intra-familial sex offenses, a list of offenders 
identifies some victims by family, if not by name.  Such a violation of privacy may 
compound a victim's trauma. 

 
Efficiency:   
 
 

                    

Rather than expend public funds on registration, the state should direct its 
resources toward other criminal justice activities.  A list of all convicted sex 
offenders, including names, addresses and other information, is expensive to create 
and maintain.  Funds could be better spent on such areas as treatment of 
incarcerated sex offenders, or intensive supervision of a small group of the most 
serious sex offenders. 

 
 
LEGAL CHALLENGES 
 
Sex offender registration laws have been subject to legal challenges in at least twelve 
states.5  Registration laws are most commonly challenged under the headings of cruel and 
unusual punishment, due process, and retroactive application, or violation of ex post facto 
laws.  The Retroactive application of registration laws have been challenged through 
arguments that registration constitutes additional punishment.  These laws have been 
upheld by courts stating that the laws are regulatory rather than punitive, and that the 
primary concern of these statutes is in protecting the public.  In many of these cases the 
offender’s record is public information to begin with, so there is no additional stigmatization 
attached to registration.  The issue of criminal records as public information also supports 
registration laws from attacks of cruel and unusual punishment, therefore not subject to the 
Eighth Amendment prohibition.  Due process challenges have been rejected by courts 

 
4 Harassment following community notification is further discussed in Community Notification:  A Survey 
of Law Enforcement, Washington State Institute for Public Policy, December 1993 and an updated survey 
to be completed in September 1996. 
5 Alaska, Arizona, California, Illinois, Louisiana, Minnesota, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, 
Ohio, Washington, and Wyoming. 
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under the notion that courts have no constitutional requirement to advise defendants of the 
obligation to register at the time of a plea.6 
 
 
BACKGROUND OF REGISTRATION LAWS 
 
 
CHRONOLOGY 
 
There are three distinct periods in the passage of sex offender registration laws:  an early 
period from 1944-67, a period of light activity from 1985-90, and a period of intense activity 
from 1991-96.  The majority of laws were enacted during the most recent period, with 26 
states passing registration laws from 1994-96. 
 
California has the nation's oldest sex offender registration law, enacted in 1944.  Arizona 
passed its first sex offender registration law in 1951, though this law has been repealed and 
replaced by a 1985 statute.  The next four oldest laws were enacted in the decade of 1957-
1967, in Florida, Nevada, Ohio, and Alabama.  (Florida's 1957 law required registration of 
all felony offenders; in 1993 the state enacted a new statute specifically for sex offender 
registration.)  A hiatus of 16 years followed; none of the current laws were passed between 
1968 and 1984.  Of the 50 states with sex offender registration laws, all but four were 
enacted after 1984.  Since 1991, 38 of the 50 states have passed laws, and a total of 15 
have been amended. 
 
 
OVERVIEW OF REGISTRATION LAWS 
 
 
ADMINISTRATION 
 
Maintenance of a sex offender registry is generally overseen by a state agency, such as the 
state police or departments of corrections, institutions, or probation and parole.  The state 
attorney general often has a central role as well.  Local law enforcement is generally 
responsible for collecting information and forwarding it to the administering state agency.  
Exceptions are Delaware, Maine, Utah, Virginia, West Virginia, and Oregon, where the 
state is responsible for both collecting the information and maintaining the central registry. 
 
INFORMATION COLLECTED 
 
Generally, the state obtains the offender's name, address, fingerprints, photo, date of birth, 
social security number, and criminal history at the time of registration.  In some states, 
fingerprints and photographs are already on file with the administering department, so other 
information is simply updated.  Place of employment and vehicle registration are also 
frequently collected.  Nine states collect blood samples for DNA analysis:  Alabama, 

                     
6 For additional information on constitutional challenges to sex offender registration and community 
notification statutes, see The Legal Validity and Policy Concerns Associated with Community Notification 
for Sex Offenders, and The Constitutionality of Statutes Requiring Convicted Sex Offenders to Register 
with Law Enforcement, The National Center for Missing and Exploited Children, June 1996. 
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Arizona, California, Connecticut, Illinois, Minnesota, Mississippi, Vermont, and Wisconsin; 
Michigan includes a DNA profile if available. 
 
 
TIME PERIOD FOR REGISTRATION 
 
Offenders in different states have varying timeframes for initial registration, ranging from 
"immediately" or prior to release,7 up to one year following release (Oregon), with a more 
common range of 7 to 30 days (27 states).  The duration of the registration requirement 
ranges from the length of probation/parole to life, and is typically 10 years or longer. 
 
Fifteen states require lifetime registration for some or all offenders.8  Most of these states 
allow the offender to petition the courts for relief from this duty after a specified time period. 
 Seven other states, while not specifying lifetime registration, require some offenders to 
petition the courts, or the court determines, to end the registration requirement.9  A typical 
example of this petition process is found in Mississippi's legislation: 
 

Any person having a duty to register under Section 1 of this act may petition 
the circuit court to be relieved of that duty...The court shall consider the 
nature of the registrable offense committed and the criminal and relevant 
noncriminal behavior of the petitioner both before and after conviction, and it 
may consider other factors.  The court may relieve the petitioner of the duty to 
register only if the petitioner shows, with clear and convincing evidence, that 
future registration of the petitioner will not serve the purposes of this act. 

 
Fourteen states vary the length of the registration requirement according to the seriousness 
of the offense or the number of convictions.10  Oklahoma allows an exceptional two-year 
requirement for offenders who complete a state-approved sex offender treatment 
programotherwise, the duration is ten years.  In Georgia and Indiana, registration ends 
with completion of parole or probation.  In Minnesota, registration ends at ten years or upon 
completion of probation or parole, whichever is longer. 
 
Under the federal crime bill's registration act, offenders convicted of a crime against a child, 
or a sexually violent offense, are required to register for 10 years following release or 
placement on supervision; sexually violent predators must register until it can be 
determined that the offender no longer suffers from a mental abnormality or personality 
disorder which makes the person likely to commit a predatory, sexually violent offense. 
 
 

                     
7 Connecticut, Delaware, Michigan, Minnesota, Missouri, New Jersey, New York, Pennsylvania, Utah, 
West Virginia, and Wisconsin 
8 Alabama, Alaska, California, Florida, Kansas, Michigan, Montana, Nevada, New Hampshire, New York, 
Oregon, Rhode Island, South Carolina, Texas, and Washington. 
9 Hawaii, Louisiana, Mississippi, Nebraska, New Jersey, Pennsylvania, and Wyoming. 
10 Alaska, Arizona, Colorado, Kansas, Michigan, New Hampshire, New Mexico, New York, Oklahoma, 
Pennsylvania, Rhode Island, Texas, Washington, and Wyoming 
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UPDATING ADDRESSES AND ADDRESS VERIFICATION 
 
Addresses must be updated for the registry to maintain its usefulness to law enforcement 
and the public.  Generally, offenders are relied upon to notify authorities of new addresses; 
most states allow the offender 10 days for change-of-address notification. 
 
Nine states require offenders to verify their registration information annually (Alaska, 
California, Iowa, Maryland, New Hampshire, New York, South Carolina, South Dakota, and 
Wisconsin); New Jersey and Vermont require verification every 90 days, while New York 
and Pennsylvania require verification for sexually violent predators every 90 days. 
 
In compliance with the federal crime bill's registration act, states are required to periodically 
verify a registered offender's address; annually for an offender convicted of an offense 
against a child or a sexually violent offense, and every 90 days for a sexually violent 
predator.  Each state law enforcement agency sends a non-forwardable verification form to 
the last-reported address.  The offender is required to return this form, by mail, within ten 
days of receipt. 
 
 
OUT-OF-STATE CONVICTIONS 
 
Most states' registration laws apply equally to offenders convicted in another state. 
 
Kentucky, Minnesota, Oregon, and Texas require offenders coming into the state to register 
only if they are currently on probation or parole.  In Arkansas, where registration is required 
after two convictions for sex offenses against a child, an out-of-state conviction will be 
counted. 
 
The federal crime bill's registration act requires offenders moving to another state to register 
with law enforcement in the new state within 10 days of establishing residency, if the new 
state has a registration requirement. 
 
 
NONCOMPLIANCE 
 
The penalty for failure to register ranges from a misdemeanor to a felony.  For offenders 
released under community supervision, noncompliance is frequently punished by 
revocation of parole or probation.  California, Delaware, Rhode Island, South Carolina, and 
Utah impose a mandatory confinement of 90 days for noncompliance.  Other states impose 
confinement ranging from one to five years, and/or a fine of up to $5,000.  Seventeen states 
increase the severity of the penalty for repeat failures to register.11  California, Mississippi, 
Oregon, and Washington vary the severity of the penalty according to the severity of the 
offense for which the offender is registering.  Minnesota punishes noncompliance by 
requiring the offender to register for an additional five years. 
 
 

                     
11 California, Colorado, Delaware, Indiana, Iowa, Louisiana, Minnesota, New York, North Carolina, North 
Dakota, Ohio, South Carolina, South Dakota, Tennessee, Texas, Vermont, and Wyoming. 
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ACCESS TO REGISTRIES 
 
States have various provisions regarding access to registry information.  Sixteen states 
specify that registry information is available only to law enforcement and investigative 
authorities.  The remaining 34 states allow some type of access, ranging from criminal 
background checks to full public access and community notification. 
 
California and New York operate "900" telephone numbers that the public may call to 
determine if a specific individual is registered.  In New York, the public may call to inquire 
whether a named individual is a registered sex offender.  California only allows calls relating 
to child sexual offenders.  In both states the caller must have specific identifying information 
about the individual in question.  In addition, California's Department of Justice makes a 
subdirectory of sexual habitual offenders available to local law enforcement, who may 
regulate public access; this subdirectory does not include exact addresses, nor criminal 
history other than the crime for which the offender is registering. 
 
 
COMMUNITY NOTIFICATION PROGRAMS 
 
Concurrent with registration laws, some states have passed notification legislation designed 
to inform communities about convicted offenders.12  Notification programs can be directed 
at a number of audiences, including:  law enforcement, victims and witnesses connected to 
specific offenders, school districts, and citizens in a particular neighborhood or community.  
Some states allow victims and witnesses to enroll in a program which lets them know where 
the offender is located during confinement, and where and when the release occurs.  Other 
states require the departments of prisons or parole to inform local law enforcement when an 
offender, believed to be dangerous, is released from prison and intends to reside in a 
specific community. 
 
As part of the federal crime bill, states may allow law enforcement agencies to release 
relevant registration information to the public, when necessary for the public's protection.  
The name of an offender's victim may not be released.  Louisiana, New Jersey, Oregon, 
and Washington already have full-scale community notification programs for sex offenders 
judged to pose a serious public threat. 
 
Louisiana has a three-step notification process, with responsibility placed on the offender:  
1) the offender places a two-day notification in the local newspaper, which must include the 
name, offense committed, and address; 2)  the offender provides this same information to 
the local school superintendent; and 3) the offender sends postcards of notification (with the 
same information used in steps one and two) to all neighbors within a three-block radius, or 
one square mile if in a rural area. 
 
In New Jersey, the county prosecutors where the offender was convicted and where the 
offender plans to reside, together with appropriate law enforcement, assess an offender's 
risk of reoffense.  The county prosecutor where the offender will reside consults with local 
law enforcement to determine the means of providing community notification for high risk 

                     
12 For more information about community notification legislation, see Sex Offender Community 
Notification: A Review of Laws in 32 States, Washington State Institute for Public Policy, April 1996. 
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sex offenders.  Organizations in the community including schools, churches, and youth 
organizations are notified of moderate risk offenders. 
 
Oregon's notification procedures can include flyers, news articles, and "stop" signs posted 
on the offender's residence.  These signs, which resemble actual stop signs, read:  "Stop, 
Sex Offender Residence," and include the address and phone number of the Department of 
Corrections.  The supervising probation or parole officer in the county where the offender 
resides "develop[s] a notification plan based on the offender's crime/behavior and the 
make-up of the community."13 
 
Washington's community notification law authorizes law enforcement to release "relevant 
and necessary" information about convicted sex offenders to the public.  Notification 
activities have included front-page news articles, flyers and posters, and canvassing of 
neighborhoods.14  Some newspapers print the names of sex offenders registered in their 
counties. 
 
 
CONFIDENTIALITY 
 
Ten states address the confidentiality of the registry information.  Most of these states 
consider violations of this confidentiality a misdemeanor; Arizona, however, considers this 
crime a felony.  Michigan specifies that violators may be punished by up to 90 days 
imprisonment and/or a fine of up to $500.  California states that the use of the registry 
information to commit a felony is punishable by a five-year prison term in addition to any 
other applicable punishment.  Other states make reference to confidentiality under separate 
statutes which address "private data" or "criminal history." 
 
 
JUVENILE REGISTRATION 
 
Most states do not require juvenile offenders to register (except when convicted under adult 
statutes).  States that routinely seal or destroy juvenile records are generally unable to 
impose a registration requirement upon juveniles because of confidentiality laws. 
 
Thirteen states have imposed a registration requirement on juvenile sex offenders.15 
Washington registers juveniles and keeps records indefinitely, requiring both adult and 
juvenile Class A felony sex offenders to register for life, Class B sex felons for 15 years 
following release, and Class C sex felons for 10 years.  Delaware and Rhode Island destroy 
juvenile registration records when the offender reaches age 25; Texas, where the 
registration requirement extends only through the duration of parole in any case, destroys 
juvenile records at age 21.  California, Michigan, New Jersey, and South Carolina can 
potentially apply lifetime registration requirements to juvenile offenders. 

                     
13 Guidelines for Sex Offender Notification and Registration, Sex Offender Supervision Network Training 
Committee, chaired by Larry Cramer, Clackamas County Community Corrections, January 1994. 
14 For examples of community notification, see Community Notification Press Review, Washington State 
Institute for Public Policy, July 1992.  See also, Community Notification: A Survey of Law Enforcement, 
Washington State Institute for Public Policy, December 1993.  

15 California, Colorado, Delaware, Idaho, Illinois, Michigan, Minnesota, New Jersey, Rhode Island, South 
Carolina, Texas, Washington, and Wisconsin. 
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EVALUATING REGISTRATION LAWS 
 
Most state registration laws were enacted recently and have not been evaluated.  Only 
California and Washington State have produced written evaluations.  A 1988 study by the 
California Department of Justice found that adult sex offenders released from prison in 
1973 and 1981 had compliance rates of 54 and 72 percent, respectively.16  In 1991, 
Washington's compliance rate was 76 percent.17  As of July 1996, 81 percent of sex 
offenders required to register have done so.  Thus, in both California and Washington, 
approximately three out of four sex offenders required to register actually did so.  This 
compliance rate is much higher than predicted by critics of registration laws. 
 
Significantly, high rates of voluntary compliance are not essential for a registration laws to 
have law enforcement benefits.  When a complete list of released sex offenders, who 
should have registered, is routinely produced by the state prison system, law enforcement 
can choose whether to actively pursue those not in compliance, or to reserve 
noncompliance charges for offenders whose behavior draws the attention of law 
enforcement.  In several Washington State counties, local authorities conduct thorough 
background checks on all released sex offenders and use the informationregardless of 
complianceas an investigative tool. 
 
In addition to measuring compliance, California's 1988 study looked at the recidivism rates 
of released sex offenders, and examined the extent to which registration actually assists in 
the investigation of sex crimes.  A 15-year follow-up study was conducted of sex offenders 
first arrested in 1973.  Nearly half (49 percent) of this group were re-arrested for some type 
of offense between 1973 and 1988, and 20 percent were re-arrested for a sex offense.  
Those whose first conviction was rape (by force or threat) had the highest recidivism 
rate64 percent for any offense and 25 percent for a sex offense. 
 
Based on the responses of 420 criminal justice agencies, the California study found that a 
large proportion of criminal justice investigators believed the registration system was 
effective in locating released or paroled sex offenders and apprehending suspected sex 
offenders.  For this reason, the vast majority of those surveyed believed the registration 
requirement should be continued.  Approximately one-half of the respondents believed that 
registration deterred offenders from committing new sex crimes.  
 
 

                     
16 California Department of Justice, Effectiveness of Statutory Requirements for the Registration of Sex 
Offenders, 1988. 
17 Washington State Institute for Public Policy, Sex Offender Registration in Washington State: 
Compliance, 1991, January 1992.  State Patrol records have been used to calculate the percentage of 
sex offenders released from confinement who have registered. 
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CONCLUSION 
 
Sex offender registration legislation has been adopted in all 50 states.  As part of the 
federal crime bill approved by Congress in August 1994, the Jacob Wetterling Crimes 
Against Children and Sexually Violent Offender Registration Act encourages states to 
create registries of offenders convicted of crimes against children or sexually violent 
offenses.  With the federal passage of “Megan’s Law,” states are also encouraged to 
include community notification in their statutes or face the same consequences.  Currently, 
32 states have some form of legislation, either authorizing community notification for 
released sex offenders, or allowing access to sex offender registration information.  Many 
other states have similar legislation pending. 

Because registration statutes are now commonplace in the country, the Washington State 
Institute for Public Policy will no longer be updating this report.  Further editions of the 
Institute’s report “Sex Offender Community Notification: A Review of Laws in 32 States” 
may be published. 
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TABLE 1 
States With Sex Offender Registration Laws 

STATE 
(Year Enacted) 

CONTACT 
PERSON 

OFFENDERS 
REQUIRED TO 
REGISTER 

INFORMATION COLLECTED 
(In addition to name and address) 

ADMINISTRATING 
AGENCY 

Alabama   (1967) 
Revised (1994)   Information Center 

Ron Cunningham 
Criminal Justice 

(205) 242-4900 

Adult sex offenders DNA sample (DNA sample to be kept in separate database) State Department of Public 
Safety, local law enforcement 

Alaska (1994) Corporal Patrick Hames 
Department of Public Safety, 
  Division of State Troopers 
(907) 258-8892 

Adult sex offenders Place of employment, sex offense committed, date of 
convictions, place and court of convictions, aliases, drivers 
license number; photo and fingerprints 

State Department of Public 
Safety, local law enforcement 

Arizona (1985) Janice Draper 
Department of Public Safety, 
  Central Records 
(602) 223-2229 
 
Nancy Swetnam 
Administrator for the Courts 
(602) 542-9517 

Adult sex offenders; 
juveniles, if adjudicated 
delinquent 

Fingerprints, photo, DNA sample, other identifying information State Department of Public 
Safety 

Arkansas (1987) Lt. Mary Margaret Kesterson 
State Police 
(501) 221-8223 

Habitual adult sex offenders 
(convicted a second or 
subsequent time after 1987), 
whose victim is under 18 

Fingerprints, photo, social security number, other identifying 
information 

State Police, local law 
enforcement 

California (1944) Marty Langley 

Latest revision (1995) 
Dept of Justice 
(916) 227-3288 

Debbie Mullinax 
Dept of Justice 
(916) 227-3743 

Adult and juvenile sex 
offenders; offenders found to 
be sexually motivated; court 
ordered for any offense with 
sexual connotation 

Fingerprints, palm print, photo, drivers license number, vehicle 
license plate number, vehicle description, criminal history, 
occupation, employer's address, scars, marks, tattoos, other 
identifying information which may include blood and saliva 
samples for DNA analysis 

State Department of Justice, 
local law enforcement 

Colorado (1991) Gray Buckley 
Bureau of Investigation 
(303) 239-4224 

Adult and juvenile sex 
offenders 

Fingerprints, photo, other identifying information including 
place of employment, registered vehicles 

State Bureau of Investigation, 
local law enforcement 
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STATE 
(Year Enacted) 

CONTACT 
PERSON 

OFFENDERS 
REQUIRED TO 
REGISTER 

INFORMATION COLLECTED 
(In addition to name and address) 

ADMINISTRATING 
AGENCY 

Connecticut (1994) Nick Gentile 
Board of Parole 
(860) 566-3710 

Adult sex offenders Blood sample for DNA analysis, aliases, social security 
number, inmate number, conviction, date and place of 
conviction, probation or sentence termination date, physical 
description, photo fingerprints 

Board of Parole, Office of Adult 
Probation, Department of 
Corrections, local law 
enforcement 

Delaware (1994) Lt. David Deputy 
State Police, Bureau of         
  Identification 
(302) 739-5871 

Adult and juvenile sex 
offenders (juvenile 
information may be 
destroyed at age 25) 

Fingerprints, photo, offense State Department of Justice, 
State Police 

Florida (1993) Wayne Quinsey 
Division of Criminal 
  Justice Information              
  Systems 
(904) 487-1179 

Violent sex offenders and 
repeat sex offenders 

Fingerprints, photo, other identifying information including 
physical description, place of employment, dates of conviction 
and release 

State Department of Law 
Enforcement, local law 
enforcement 

Georgia (1994) Scheree Lipscomb 
Board of Pardons and  
  Paroles 
(404) 651-5897 

Adult sex offenders with a 
child victim 

Conviction, date of parole State Department of Pardons 
and Paroles, county sheriff 

Hawaii  (1995) Ken Takayama 
(808) 587-0666 

Any person convicted of a 
felony sexual assault 

Photo, fingerprints, name and aliases, length of residence, 
temporary residence if applicable, place of employment, 
vehicle registration(s) 

Local law enforcement 

Idaho (1993) Lonnie Gray 
Bureau of Criminal 
  Investigation 
(208) 884-7135 

Adult sex offenders; 
juveniles charged as an adult 

Fingerprints, photo, other identifying information including 
physical description, description of crime 

State Bureau of Criminal 
Identification, local law 
enforcement 

Illinois  (1986) 

Revised (1996) 
Mike Welter 
State Department of 
  Police Intelligence Bureau 
(217) 785-0626 

Adult and juvenile felony sex 
offenders whose victim is 
under 18 (retroactive), child 
murderers (prospective) 

Address only (fingerprints, other information and DNA  already 
on file), offender not allowed to change name within 10 year 
duration 

State Police, local law 
enforcement 

Indiana (1994) Catherine O'Connor 
Indiana Criminal Justice 
  Institute 
(317) 232-1233 

Adult sex offenders with 
victims under 18 

Aliases, DOB, physical description, social security number, 
drivers license number, conviction and sentence imposed if 
applicable 

State Criminal Justice Institute, 
local law enforcement 
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STATE 
(Year Enacted) 

CONTACT 
PERSON 

OFFENDERS 
REQUIRED TO 
REGISTER 

INFORMATION COLLECTED 
(In addition to name and address) 

ADMINISTRATING 
AGENCY 

Iowa (1995) Steve Conlon 
Special Agent in Charge, 
Iowa Division of Criminal 
  Investigation 
(515) 281-5138 

Adults and Juveniles 
“convicted” of sex offenses 
and offenses against minors 

Fingerprints, social security number, photograph, current 
address, telephone number, and additional relevant 
information not including information identifying the victim 

 

Department of Public Safety, 
county sheriff 

Kansas (1993) 

Revised (1994) 
Kathleen Bledsoe 
State Bureau of 
  Investigations 
(913) 296-8200 

Adult violent sex offenders; 
juveniles with a court order  

Fingerprints, photo, other identifying information including date 
of conviction 

State Bureau of Investigations; 
Department of Corrections, local 
law enforcement 

Kentucky (1994) Hansel Hill 
State Police 
Data Processing 
(502) 227-8700 

Adult felony sex offenders Social security number, DOB, physical description, aliases, 
vehicle registration data, description of crime 

Kentucky State Police, local 
probation/parole officer 

Louisiana (1992) Bill Price 
Department of Public Safety, 
  Division of Probation and    
  Parole 
(504) 342-6609 

Adult sex offenders Fingerprints, photo, place of employment, place and date of 
conviction, other identifying info 

State Bureau of Criminal 
Identification and Information,  
Department of Public Safety and 
Corrections, local law 
enforcement 

Maine (1991) Dorothy Morang 
State Bureau of 
  Identification 
(207) 624-7009 

Any individual convicted of a 
gross sexual assault whose 
victim is under 16 at the time 
of the crime 

Name and address only State Bureau of Identification 

Maryland (1995) Audrey Brown 
Dept. of Public Safety and     
 Corrections, for Division of   
 Correction 
(410) 764-4188 

Earl L. Gillespie  
CJIS, DPSCS 
(410) 764-5665 

Adult child sex offenders, 
convicted after October 1, 
1995 

Place of employment, description of crime, date convicted, 
jurisdiction of conviction, aliases, social security number, 
fingerprints, photograph 

Department of Public Safety and 
Correctional Services, local law 
enforcement 

Massachusetts Final version of bill has not been agreed to as of 7/19/96.  For more information contact:  Margot Friedman, Counsel; Senator Antonioni, Senate Chamber, State House, 
    Boston, MA 02133.  Phone: (617) 722-1230 
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STATE 
(Year Enacted) 

CONTACT 
PERSON 

OFFENDERS 
REQUIRED TO 
REGISTER 

INFORMATION COLLECTED 
(In addition to name and address) 

ADMINISTRATING 
AGENCY 

Michigan Det. Sgt. Robert Carr  
State Police 
(517) 336-6683 

Adult and juvenile sex 
offenders 

Social security number, conviction (including original charge if 
convicted of lesser offense), physical description, blood type 
and whether DNA profile available, photo (optional) 

State Police, local law 
enforcement 

Minnesota (1991) 

Latest Revision (1996) 
Special Agent Gary Dahl 
Bureau of Criminal 
  Apprehension 
(612) 642-0635 

Adults and juvenile sex 
offenders; federal offenders; 
out of state offenders 

Fingerprints, photo, DNA sample (required by another 
statute), other identifying information 

State Department of Public 
Safety, Department of 
Corrections 

Mississippi (1994) 

Revised (1995) 
Lt. Judy M. Tucker, 
Criminal Investigation 
  Bureau 
(601) 987-1592 

All sex offenders Place of employment, conviction, date and place of 
conviction, description of offense, aliases, social security 
number, DOB, physical description, photo, fingerprints, blood 
sample for DNA analysis 

State Department of Public 
Safety, county sheriff 

Missouri (1994) James Klahr 
Senate Research 
(573) 751-4666 

Adult sex offenders Phone number, place of employment, crime committed, date 
and place of crime, date and place of conviction, photo, 
fingerprints 

State Highway Patrol, local law 
enforcement 

Montana (1989) 

Revised (1991) 
Ted Clack 
Department of Corrections 
(406) 444-4907 

Adult offenders convicted of 
sex offenses and other 
crimes against the person; 
also includes offenders 
convicted of arson 

Fingerprints, photograph, certain ID numbers, type of offense, 
physical description, DOB, citizenship, phone number, vehicle 
description 

State Department of Corrections, 
local law enforcement 

Nebraska (1996) Gary L. Plank 
State Patrol, Investigator 
(402) 471-4545 
 

Any person convicted of 
specific crimes against 
minors defined in statute or 
sexual assault 

A complete description, date of birth, social security number, 
photograph, fingerprints, any aliases used, a list of offenses 
for which registration is required, court of conviction, name 
and location of facility in which incarcerated, and place of 
employment 

State Department of Correctional 
Services, local law enforcement 

Nevada (1961) 

Latest Revision (1996) 
Nancy Tiffany 
Department of Probation 
  and Parole 
(702) 687-5040 

Adult sex offenders Fingerprints, photo, address, and other identifying info State Department of Probation 
and Parole, local law 
enforcement 

New Hampshire (1993) Wendi Howard 
State Police 
(603) 271-2663 

Adult sex offenders Physical description, employer's address State Department of Safety, local 
law enforcement 
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STATE 
(Year Enacted) 

CONTACT 
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OFFENDERS 
REQUIRED TO 
REGISTER 

INFORMATION COLLECTED 
(In addition to name and address) 

ADMINISTRATING 
AGENCY 

New Jersey (1994) Ann Stefane 
Office of Legislative Services 
Law and Public Safety 
(609) 984-0231 

Adult and juvenile sex 
offenders 

Social security number, age, DOB, race, sex, physical 
description, address of current temporary residence, date and 
place of employment, date and place of each conviction, 
indictment number, adjudication or acquittal by reason of 
insanity, description of crime, fingerprints, signed statement of 
having been advised of registration requirement 

Superintendent of State Police, 
Department of Corrections, 
Administrative Office of the 
Courts, Department of Human 
Services, Division of Motor 
Vehicles of the Department of 
Law and Public Safety, Attorney 
General, local law enforcement 

New Mexico (1995) Tony Ortiz 
Legislative Council Service 
(505) 986-4609 

Adult sex offenders Aliases, DOB, social security number, place of employment, 
conviction, date and place of conviction, photo, fingerprints, 
and any distinguishing features, e.g., tattoos or scars 

Department of Pubic Safety, 
county sheriff 

New York (1995) Kelly K. Haskin-Tenenini 
Division of Criminal Justice 

Services 
(518) 457-3167 

Most adult sex offenders and 
convicted juvenile sex 
offenders 

Aliases, DOB, sex, race, height, weight, eye color, drivers 
license number, photograph, fingerprints, description of 
offense, date of conviction, sentence imposed, other pertinent 
information 

Division of Criminal Justice 
Services 

North Carolina (1995) Jane Gray (legal questions) 
Department of Justice 
(919) 733-3377 

David Davila (statistics) 
Division of Criminal Stats. 
(919) 733-3171 

Adult and juvenile sex 
offenders 

Aliases, DOB, sex, race, height, weight, eye color, hair color, 
drivers license number, type of offense, date of conviction, 
sentence imposed, current photo, fingerprints 

Division of Criminal Statistics 
(maintains data base), county 
sheriff (obtains registrations) 

North Dakota  (1991) 

Latest Revision (1995) 
Bob Helten 
Bureau of Criminal 
  Investigations 
(701) 328-5500 

Adult sex offenders; adult 
non-sex offenders against 
children 

Fingerprints, photo, place of employment, date and place of 
conviction, description of offense, other identifying information 

State Bureau of Criminal 
Investigation, local law 
enforcement, State Department 
of Corrections & Rehabilitation 

Ohio (1963) Ted Almay 

Latest Revision (1996) 
Superintendent, Bureau of    
  Criminal Investigations 
(614) 466-8204 

Adult sex offenders 
convicted 2 or more times 

Fingerprints, photo State Bureau of Criminal 
Investigations, local law 
enforcement and courts 

Oklahoma (1989) Jim Rabon 

Latest Revision (1995) 
Department of Corrections 
(405) 425-2615 

Adult sex offenders Fingerprints, photo, physical description, DOB, criminal 
history, place of employment, vehicle registration 

State Department of Corrections, 
local law enforcement 
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(In addition to name and address) 

ADMINISTRATING 
AGENCY 

Oregon (1989) 

Revised (1991) 
James Ragon 
State Police 
(503) 378-3720 x4418 

All sex offenders, adult and 
juvenile 

Physical description, description of offense (other information 
on file) 

State Police 

Pennsylvania (1995) Major David Miller 
Legislative Liaison State 
  Police 
(717) 783-1771 

Adult and juvenile sexually 
violent predators and certain 
other offenders 

Aliases, identifying factors, offense history, documentation of 
treatment received for mental abnormality or personality 
disorder 

Pennsylvania State Police 

Rhode Island (1992) Chris Shaban 
Attorney General's Office 
(401) 274-4400 

Adult and juvenile sexual 
assault offenders, including 
attempted offenses 

Fingerprints, photo, signed statement State Attorney General, local law 
enforcement 

South Carolina (1994) Celeste Profitt 
South Carolina Law  
  Enforcement Division 
(803) 896-7125 

(Revised 10/02) 

Adults and juveniles 
convicted of certain sex and 
other offenses 

Name, photo, statement of crime SC Law Enforcement Division, 
Dept. of Corrections; Dept. of 
Probation and Parole; Dept. of 
Juvenile Justice; 46 county 
sheriffs; the Dept. of Motor 
Vehicles 

South Dakota (1994) Jacque Storm 
Legislative Research 
Council 
(605) 773-3251 
 
Judy Schneider 
Attorney General's Office,     
  Division of Criminal              
 Investigations 
(605) 773-3331 

Adult sex offenders Aliases, complete description, photo, fingerprints, length of 
time at residence, length of time expected to remain at that 
residence 

Division of Criminal Investigation, 
local law enforcement 

Tennessee (1994) David Jennings 
Legal Counsel 
Bureau of Investigation 
(615) 741-0430 

Adult sex offenders Aliases, date and place of birth, social security number, 
drivers license number, conviction, place and length of 
employment, address and length of residence; if on 
supervised releasename, address, and phone number of 
person responsible for supervision 

Tennessee Bureau of 
Investigation, local law 
enforcement 
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CONTACT 
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REQUIRED TO 
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(In addition to name and address) 

ADMINISTRATING 
AGENCY 

Texas (1991) 

Latest Revision (1995) 
Paul Jordan 
Criminal Intelligence Service, 
  Department of Public           
 Safety 
(512) 424-2200 

Adult and juvenile sex 
offenders (including indecent 
exposure 4th conviction 
between 9/1/91 and 8/31/95 
and second conviction after 
9/1/95) 

Fingerprints, photo, place of employment, other identifying 
information including vehicle registration, victim age/gender, 
occupation 

Texas Department of Public 
Safety, local law enforcement 

Utah (1987) 

Latest Revision (1994) 
Machelle Rodriguiz 
Dept of Corrections 
(801) 265-5626 

Adult sex offenders Vehicle description & registration information, photos, criminal 
history, DOB, physical description, offense description, police 
reports, pre-sentence investigation reports, other identifying 
information 

State Department of Corrections 

Vermont (1996) Max Schlueter 
Vermont Criminal                   
 Information Center, 
Department of Public             
 Safety 
(802) 244-8727 

A person convicted of sexual 
misconduct, prohibited acts 
involving minors and other 
offenses defined in statute 

Date of birth, general physical description, social security 
number, fingerprints, current photograph, current employment, 
any conditions of release or probation, probation or parole 
officer in charge of monitoring offender, and the name and 
address of any counselors or therapists who will provide 
treatment to the offender 

State Department of Public 
Safety, Department of 
Corrections 

Virginia (1994) Captain R. Lewis Vass 
Dept of State Police 
(804) 674-2147 

Adult felony sex offenders, 
juvenile felony sex offenders 
convicted in circuit courts 

Source of registration data, type of registration (initial or 
update), sex, race, DOB, social security number, description 
of convictions requiring registration 

State Police 

Washington (1990) 

Latest Revision (1995) 
Susie Coon 
State Patrol 
(360) 705-5101 

Adult and juvenile sex 
offenders; offenders found 
not guilty by reason of 
insanity 

Fingerprints, photo, crime, date of conviction, social security 
number, DOB, place of employment, place of conviction 

State Patrol, State Department of 
Corrections, local law 
enforcement 

West Virginia (1994) Sgt. Thomas Barrick 
State Police 
(304) 746-2177 

Adult sex offenders Social security number, DOB, previous address, jurisdiction of 
conviction, date of conviction, date of release, right thumb 
print, name and phone number of parole/probation officer 

State Police 

Wisconsin (1993) Anthony Streveler, 
Department of  Corrections 
(608) 266-5413 
 
Special Agent Ron Feurer 
Department of Justice 
(414) 227-2100 

Adult and juvenile sex 
offenders 

Place of school enrollment, place of employment, employment 
duties, DNA sample 

State Department of Justice 
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Wyoming (1994) Dave Gruver 
Legislative Services Office 
(307) 777-7881 

Adult felony sex offender 
whose victim was under 18 
and who was at least 4 years 
older than victim 

Date and place of birth, social security number, place of 
employment, conviction, photo, fingerprints 

Division of Criminal Investigation, 
county sheriff 

 



 
TABLE 2 

States With Sex Offender Registration Laws 
 

STATE 

 

TIMEFRAME FOR 
REGISTRATION 

APPLIES TO 
OFFENDERS 
CONVICTED 
IN ANOTHER 
STATE? 

DURATION OF 
REQUIREMENT 

VERIFICATION 
OF ADDRESS? 

PENALTIES FOR 
NON-
COMPLIANCE 

Alabama Within 30 days of release; 30 
days of changing address 

Yes   Life No Felony1 to 5 years 
imprisonment and up to 
$1,000 fine 

Alaska Within 7 days of release; 14 
days of entering state (7 days if 
on parole/probation); 10 days 
of changing address 

Yes 15 years for first offense; life 
if convicted of 2 or more 
offenses 

Annuallyoffender must 
provide written notice of 
changes in registration 
information, or statement of 
no changes, to Department 
of Public Safety 

Class A misdemeanor 

Arizona Within 10 days of conviction; 
10 days of entering state; 10 
days of changing address 

Yes 10-15 years, depending on 
conviction.  Juveniles until 
age 25.  (Remain on registry 
until age 80) 

No Class 6 (lowest) felony or 
Class 1 (highest) 
misdemeanor 

Arkansas Within 30 days of entering any 
county; 10 days of changing 
address 

Yes 10 years after conviction or 
release from prison 

No Class A misdemeanorup 
to 1 year in jail and up to 
$1,000 fine 

California Within 14 days of entering any 
county or city; 10 days of 
changing address 

Yes, both adults and 
juveniles, including 
federal and foreign 
convictions 

Life for both adults and 
juveniles; juveniles may 
petition to have their records 
sealed 

Offenders update registration 
info annually with local law 
enforcement within 10 days 
of birthday; verify address 
with Department of Justice 

If guilty of a misdemeanor, 
failure to register or update 
is a misdemeanorup to 1 
year in jail; if guilty of a 
felony or have prior failure, 
failure is a felony16-36 
months in state prison; 
mandatory 90 days 
imprisonment; 
parole/probation revocation 
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STATE 

 

TIMEFRAME FOR 
REGISTRATION 

APPLIES TO 
OFFENDERS 
CONVICTED 
IN ANOTHER 
STATE? 

DURATION OF 
REQUIREMENT 

VERIFICATION 
OF ADDRESS? 

PENALTIES FOR 
NON-
COMPLIANCE 

Colorado Within 7 days of becoming a 
temporary or permanent 
resident; 7 days of changing 
address 

Yes 20 years (Class 1, 2 and 3 
felonies); 10 years (Class 4, 
5 and 6 felonies); 5 years 
(misdemeanors); records 
stay on file unless offender 
requests removal 

No Class 2 misdemeanor; 
second failure to 
complyClass 6 felony, 
mandatory jail time 

Connecticut Registered prior to release; 5 
days of entering state; 5 days 
of changing address 

Yes 10 years after probation or 
sentence termination date 

No Class A misdemeanor 

Delaware At time of release from custody 
or at sentencing if placed on 
probation; 30 days of entering 
state, 10 days of changing 
address 

Yes Not yet specified Yes Misdemeanormandatory, 
min. 90 days imprisonment 
w/balance of at least one 
year probation, up to 1 year 
imprisonment; second and 
subsequent failuresClass 
G felony; parole/probation 
revocation  

Florida Within 48 hours of entering a 
county; 48 hours of changing 
address 

Yes Life No Third degree felony; 
revocation of 
parole/probation 

Georgia Within 10 days of release on 
parole; 10 days of changing 
address 

No Ends with completion of 
parole 

Yes Misdemeanor and violation 
of parole 

Hawaii Within 3 working days after 
arrival in county where offender 
plans to reside longer than 1 
month; within 3 working days of 
change of address 

Yes Offender may petition for 
relief from duty to register 
after 5 years; if denied, must 
wait 1 year to petition again. 

No  Misdemeanor
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REGISTRATION 

APPLIES TO 
OFFENDERS 
CONVICTED 
IN ANOTHER 
STATE? 

DURATION OF 
REQUIREMENT 

VERIFICATION 
OF ADDRESS? 

PENALTIES FOR 
NON-
COMPLIANCE 

Idaho Within 5 days of entering any 
county; 5 days of changing 
address 

Yes    10 years No Felonyincarceration up to 
5 years, fine up to $5,000 

Illinois Within 30 days of entering any 
county; 10 days of changing 
address 

Conviction in another 
state may constitute a 
first conviction 

10 years No (State Police has 
requested that local law 
enforcement verify 
addresses) 

Class 4 felony 

Indiana Within 7 days of arriving at 
intended residence; 7 days of 
changing address 

No Ends with completion of 
parole/probation 

No Class A misdemeanor; 
Class D felony if offender 
has prior unrelated offense 

Iowa Within 10 days of release or 
establishing residence in the 
state; within 10 days of 
changing residence 

Yes 10 years; indeterminately if 
person is a sexually violent 
predator; 10 years 
recommences upon 
subsequent convictions for 
sex offenders 

Annually—the department 
sends a verification form by 
mail that must be completed 
and mailed back within 10 
days; sexually violent 
predators will have their 
addresses verified every 
three months 

First offense is an 
aggravated misdemeanor; 
second and subsequent 
offenses are class D 
felonies; however, a person 
who fails to register and 
commits another offense is 
guilty of a class C felony.  If 
person is on parole, 
probation, or work release, 
failure results in an 
automatic revocation 

Kansas Within 15 days of entering any 
county; 10 days of changing 
address 

Yes 10 years for first conviction; 
life for second or 
subsequent conviction 

No Class A non-person 
misdemeanor; providing 
false information can result 
in charges at a Level 8-non-
person felony 

Kentucky Within 14 days of release; 14 
days of being notified by 
parole/probation officer after 
moving into state (inferred from 
legislation); 14 days of 
changing address 

Yes, if on active 
supervision 

10 years No Class A misdemeanor 
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REGISTRATION 
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CONVICTED 
IN ANOTHER 
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DURATION OF 
REQUIREMENT 

VERIFICATION 
OF ADDRESS? 

PENALTIES FOR 
NON-
COMPLIANCE 

Louisiana Within 30 days of release; 45 
days of entering state; 10 days 
of changing address  

Yes 10 years (may petition the 
court for relief of duty) 

No 1st failure$1,000 fine 
and/or 1 year 
imprisonment; 2nd 
failureup to 3 years 
imprisonment without 
parole, probation or 
suspension 

Maine Within 15 days of release from 
incarceration or sentencing if 
not incarcerated; 5 days of 
changing address 

No 15 years of release from 
incarceration or sentencing 
if not incarcerated; may 
petition for waiver of duty to 
register after 5 years 

No Class E crime 
(misdemeanor) 

Maryland Within 7 days of release or 
establishing residence in the 
state 

Yes   10 years. Yesoffender registers 
annually with local law 
enforcement 

Misdemeanor subject to 
imprisonment for up to 3 
years, fine of up to $5,000, 
or both 

Massachusetts Final version of bill has not been agreed to as of 7/19/96.  For more information contact:  Margot Friedman, Counsel; Senator Antonioni, Senate Chamber, State House, 
   Boston, MA 02133.  Phone: (617) 722-1230 

Michigan Registered prior to sentencing, 
updated upon release; within 
14 days of residing in state; 10 
days of changing address 

Yes 25 years; life if convicted of 
subsequent offense (even if 
first offense was committed 
prior to law) 

No Felonyup to 4 years 
imprisonment and/or $2000 
fine; probation/parole or 
youthful trainee status 
revoked 

Minnesota  Immediately upon release; prior 
to entering state if accepted 
while on parole/probation; 5 
days prior to changing address; 
out of state offenders no longer 
under supervision have 30 
days after moving into state 

Yes, if on parole/ 
probation; acceptance 
of an offender under 
interstate agreement is 
conditional on offender 
registering, and other 
requirements; those 
convicted in last 10 
years 

10 years or length of 
parole/probation, whichever 
is longer 

No, but local law 
enforcement is asked to 
physically verify offender's 
reported address 

1st failuregross 
misdemeanor, and adds 5 
years to registration 
requirement; 2nd 
failurefelony 
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IN ANOTHER 
STATE? 
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REQUIREMENT 

VERIFICATION 
OF ADDRESS? 

PENALTIES FOR 
NON-
COMPLIANCE 

Mississippi Within 30 days of release; 45 
days of establishing residence; 
45 days of changing address 

Yes Offender may be relieved of 
duty only by petitioning 
circuit court 

No If convicted of a felony 
$1500  to $5000 fine and/or 
1 to 5 years imprisonment; 
if convicted of a 
misdemeanor-$100 to 
$1000 fine or 3 months to   
1 year imprisonment 

Missouri Registered prior to release; 14 
days of coming into state; 10 
days of changing address 

Yes Not specified No Class A misdemeanor 

Montana Within 14 days of conviction, 
release from prison or 
supervision, coming into a 
county; 10 days of changing 
address 

Yes Life; may petition court for 
relief from requirement after 
10 years of clear conduct 

No Possible 5 year prison term 
and/or up to $10,000 fine 

Nebraska Within 5 working days of 
establishing residence or 
temporary domicile in any 
county, 5 days of changing 
address 

Yes 10 years after released or 
discharged from probation 
or parole, whichever is later 
(may petition the court for 
relief of duty), sexually 
violent offenders must 
register until the sentencing 
court determines otherwise 

Annually, within 30 days of 
anniversary, sexually violent 
offenders must verify every 3 
months 

Class 4 felony 

Nevada Within 48 hours of arrival in a 
county; 10 days of changing 
address 

Yes Life; offender may apply to 
district court for order 
relieving him of duty to 
register 

No Gross misdemeanorup to 
1 year in county jail 

New 
Hampshire 

Within 30 days of release 
(including while under 
supervision); 30 days of 
establishing residence; 10 days 
of changing address 

Yes Life (felony offenses); 10 
years (misdemeanors) 

Registration report made 
annually within 30 days of 
anniversary of release, or of 
establishment of residence in 
state if convicted elsewhere 

Misdemeanor 
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STATE 

 

TIMEFRAME FOR 
REGISTRATION 

APPLIES TO 
OFFENDERS 
CONVICTED 
IN ANOTHER 
STATE? 

DURATION OF 
REQUIREMENT 

VERIFICATION 
OF ADDRESS? 

PENALTIES FOR 
NON-
COMPLIANCE 

New Jersey Registered prior to release or 
within 4 days of judgment if not 
confined; upon being placed on 
supervision; 70 days of 
entering state; 10 days prior to 
changing address 

Yes May apply to State Superior 
Court to terminate obligation 
to register if no offense 
committed within 15 years 
following conviction or 
release  

Address verification with law 
enforcement every 90 days 

Crime of the fourth degree 

New Mexico 30 days after release, 45 days 
after coming into the state, 10 
days after changing residences 

Yes 10 or 20 years, depending 
upon conviction 

No Misdemeanorimprison-
ment for less than 1 year 
and/or fine up to $1,000; 
same penalty for providing 
false information 

New York Upon discharge and within 10 
days of change of address 

Yes Annually for at least 10 
years unless petition from 
court; sexually violent 
predators must register 
annually for lifetime; can be 
relieved of requirement on 
petition of court 

Annually; sexually violent 
predatorsevery 90 days 

Class A misdemeanor for 
the first offense; Class D 
felony for second and 
subsequent offenses.  Non-
compliance may be basis 
for revocation of parole 

North Carolina Within 10 days of release, 
arrival in a county, change of 
residency; immediately upon 
conviction if not incarcerated 

Yes, for substantially 
equivalent offenses 

10 years No Class 3 misdemeanor for 
first conviction of a 
violation; Class I felony for 
subsequent convictions 

North Dakota Within 10 days of release; 10 
days of changing address 

Yes 10 years Yes Class A misdemeanor; 
automatic parole or 
probation revocation; Class 
C felony for 2nd offense 

Ohio Within 30 days of entering any 
county; 10 days of changing 
address 

Yes    10 years No First offensefirst degree 
misdemeanor; subsequent 
offensefourth degree 
felony 
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NON-
COMPLIANCE 

Oklahoma With DOCwithin 10 days of 
release, 30 days of entering 
state, 10 days of changing 
address; with local law 
enforcementwithin 7 days of 
release or entering state, 3 
days of change of address 

Yes Offenders who have 
completed Dept. of 
Correction's treatment 
program2 years; 
Other offenders10 years 

No  Misdemeanor

Oregon Within 1 year of release from 
supervision; 30 days of 
changing address 

Yesif convicted or 
required to register in 
another state 

Life; may petition for waiver 
after 10 years (law sunsets 
in 1997) 

Nocurrently developing a 
system of verification 

Class C felony if felony 
offense; otherwise a Class 
A misdemeanor 

Pennsylvania Upon release or parole from 
correctional institution or upon 
commencement of a sentence 
of intermediate punishment or 
probation; within 10 days of 
changing address; within 10 
days of moving to another state 

No Sexually violent predators—
until the court determines 
the person is no longer a 
sexually violent predator; 
certain other offenders—10 
years 

Sexually violent predators—
every 90 days; certain other 
offenders—10 years 

Felony of the third degree 

Rhode Island Within 30 days of entering 
state; 10 days of change of 
address; 30 days prior to 
release 

Yesonly those 
convicted of first 
degree sexual assault. 

Adult offenders—life; 
juvenile offenders—until age 
25 (juvenile registration 
records destroyed at that 
time) 

No   Misdemeanor—90 days
imprisonment, 1 year 
probation 

South Carolina Within 24 hours of release; 10 
days of sentencing to 
probation; 60 days of entering 
state; 10 days of changing 
address 

Yes Life Offenders register annually 
with county sheriff 

First 2 offensesfelony, 
$1000 fine & mandatory 90-
day sentence; third & 
subsequent offenses 
felony, mandatory 1-5 year 
sentence, and may be fined 
$1000 
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NON-
COMPLIANCE 

South Dakota Within 10 days of entering 
state; 10 days of changing 
address 

Yes Not specified Offenders register annually 
with local law enforcement 
agency 

First failureClass 1 
misdemeanor; subsequent 
failuresClass 6 felony 

Tennessee Within 10 days of release; 10 
days of entering state; 10 days 
of changing address 

Yes 10 years minimum; may 
then petition for relief from 
registration 

Tennessee Bureau of 
Investigation will send a non-
forwardable verification/ 
monitoring form to offender, 
who must complete and 
deliver to TBI headquarters 
within 10 days of receipt 

First offenseClass A 
misdemeanor; subsequent 
offensesClass E felony 

Texas Within 7 days of arriving at 
intended residence or 7 days of 
changing address (for 
reportable convictions between 
9/1/91-8/31/95); 7 days before 
intended move (for reportable 
convictions after 9/1/95) 

Yes, if reportable 
conviction is after 
9/1/95 and offender is 
on supervision; yes, if 
offender is not on 
supervision and 
conviction state has 
mandatory post 
discharge registration 
requirement 

Reportable convictions after 
9/1/95:  all offenders10 
years after discharge from 
supervision; life for adult 
offenders convicted of 
aggravated sexual assault, 
indecency with a child, or 
sexual performance by a 
child.  Reportable 
convictions 9/1/91-8/31/95: 
adultsduration of 
supervision; juvenilesuntil 
age 21 

Yes, for reportable 
convictions after 9/1/95 

First failure to 
complyClass A 
misdemeanor; second 
failurethird degree felony; 
revocable offense for 
reportable convictions after 
9/1/95 

Utah During pre-sentence 
investigation, immediately upon 
probation, parole or 
confinement; 10 days of 
changing address 

Yes 5 years after termination or 
expiration of sentence 

No Class A misdemeanor 
mandatory 90 days 
confinement and 1 year 
probation 

28 



 

STATE 

 

TIMEFRAME FOR 
REGISTRATION 

APPLIES TO 
OFFENDERS 
CONVICTED 
IN ANOTHER 
STATE? 

DURATION OF 
REQUIREMENT 

VERIFICATION 
OF ADDRESS? 
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Vermont Within 10 days after 
establishing residence in the 
state, annually within 10 days 
after each anniversary of the 
person’s date of release, 3 
days of changing address 

Yes 10 years after released or 
discharged from probation 
or parole, whichever is later, 
a person designated as a 
sexually violent predator 
may petition the court for 
removal of the designation 
after 10 years 

Yes, the department shall 
update the record at least 
every 3 months 

For first offense, up to 2 
years imprisonment and 
$1,000 fine.  For second 
and subsequent offense, by 
a sexually violent predator, 
up to 3 years imprisonment 
and $5,000 fine 

Virginia Within 30 days of suspension 
of sentence, 30 days of 
release, 30 days after 
establishing residence, 30 days 
of changing address 

Yes 15 years; or may petition 
circuit court for 
expungement from registry 
(if petition is denied, 
offender must wait 2 years 
to file new petition) 

No Class 1 misdemeanor-
confinement in jail for up to 
12 months and a fine up to 
$2,500, either or both 

Washington  Within 24 hours of release, 
immediately if not confined; 30 
days of becoming new state 
resident; 10 days of moving 

Yes, and to those 
convicted under laws 
of foreign country or 
the military 

Life if Class A felony; 
15 years if Class B felony; 
10 years if Class C felony 

No Class C felony if Class A 
felony offense; otherwise 
gross misdemeanor 

West Virginia Immediately upon release; 30 
days of moving into state; 10 
days of changing address 

Yes 10 years (if not imprisoned, 
registration applies after 
second conviction) 

No  Misdemeanor

Wisconsin Upon release from supervision; 
within 14 days of changing 
address, school enrollment, or 
employment 

No (DOJ asks 
supervised offenders 
from other states to 
register but this cannot 
be enforced) 

15 years from discharge 
from supervision 

Offender must notify the 
Department of Justice 
annually of his/her current 
information; DOJ notifies 
offenders of this requirement 

Up to $10,000 fine and/or 
up to 9 months 
imprisonment 
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Wyoming Within 5 days of release; 30 
days of entering state; 10 days 
of changing address 

Yes If convicted of first or second 
degree sexual 
assaultmust petition 
district court for relief of duty 
to register; if convicted of 
other sex offense10 
years, or may petition district 
court for relief of duty to 
register 

No High misdemeanor for 1st 
failureup to $750 fine 
and/or up to 1 year 
imprisonment; felony for 
subsequent failures up to 
$1000 fine and/or up to 2 
years imprisonment 
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TABLE 3 

States With Sex Offender Registration Laws 
 

STATE ACCESS TO INFORMATION CONFIDENTIALITY 
PROVISION 

NUMBER 
REGISTERED 

PERCENT 
COMPLIANCE 

Alabama Available to law enforcement and investigative authorities only No 57 Not known 

Alaska Available to law enforcement agencies and any person who submits a 
written request to the department’s permits and licensing unit for the 
information (on a form supplied by the department) and pays a non-
refundable fee of $10 

No    491 Not known

Arizona Notification given to schools, neighbors and community groups of an 
offender’s release into the community.  Methods of notification to be 
determined by state community notification guidelines committee 

Information is considered criminal 
history; violation of confidentiality is a 
felony 

7,825   Not known

Arkansas Available to law enforcement and investigative authorities only No Very few Not known 

California Public access through “900” phone line which members of general 
public may call to inquire whether specific individual is listed as a 
registered sex offender with a minor victim.  Caller must provide 
information concerning the registrant including exact street address 
and birth date along with additional information such as name, hair 
color, eye color, height, weight, distinctive markings, ethnicity, and 
social security number.  Caller should have a reasonable suspicion 
that a child is at risk.  Sub-directory of sexual habitual offenders is 
available to the general public, however, individual may be required to 
express articulable purpose in order to obtain access 

Use of information disclosed by 
"900" number or subdirectory to 
engage in illegal discrimination or 
harassment is illegal; use of this 
information to commit a felony shall 
be punished by a 5-year prison term 
in addition to any other punishment 

62,640 72% for those released in 
1981; 54% for those 
released in 1973 
(1988 study) 

Colorado Information regarding any person registered may be released to the 
public.  Information may be released to anyone residing within the 
local law enforcement agency’s jurisdiction, and anyone outside the 
jurisdiction upon request and demonstration of a need to know 

No (except nonfeasance, etc.) 750 with the state; 
unknown at the local 
level 

Not known 

Connecticut Limited public disclosure, when it is deemed necessary to protect a 
person from a specific sex offender required to register 

Disclosure of records is a Class C 
misdemeanor 

Not known Not known 

Delaware Community notification to the general public of released sex offender 
via newspaper publication.  Employer or potential employer in a 
sensitive area dealing with children may inquire as to whether such 
person’s name is on the registration list 

No Not known Not known 
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STATE ACCESS TO INFORMATION CONFIDENTIALITY 
PROVISION 

NUMBER 
REGISTERED 

PERCENT 
COMPLIANCE 

Florida Community notification of release of sex offender via newspaper 
publication if hearing determines sexual predator poses a threat to 
society 

No    30-35 Not known

Georgia Registry open to public inspection; it has been informally established 
that as a condition of parole, offender must give name, address, and 
crime to superintendent of public school district and county sheriff where 
offender will reside 

No Not known (kept by 
each county) 

100% 

Hawaii Available to law enforcement only No Not known Not known 

Idaho Registration information available to public through central registry 
upon request.  Requester must provide offender’s name, date of birth 
and social security number 

No    1,133 Not known

Illinois Notification of registered child sex offenders to:  The Department of 
Children and Family Services; school boards of public school districts, 
the principle of each nonpublic school, and child care facilities located 
in the county or police district where the offender resides; and, in the 
department or agency’s discretion, any person likely to encounter a 
child sex offender 

Class B misdemeanor for 
unauthorized release of registration 
information 

Not known, changing 
too rapidly to give 
accurate number 

Not known 

Indiana Statutory notification to all public and nonpublic schools, state 
agencies licensing or hiring individuals dealing with children, state 
personnel department to screen individuals who may be hired to work 
with children, and registered child care facilities 

Any person who misuses limited 
criminal history information commits 
a Class A misdemeanor 

1,100 (since 7/1/94) Not known 

Iowa Information may be disseminated to:  1) criminal justice agencies; 2) 
government agencies for background checks; 3) the public, with case-
specific authorization, when deemed necessary to protect the public; 4) 
to persons conducting research (with identifying data removed); and 5) a 
member of the general public if specific identifying information is 
provided about both the person requesting information and the 
registrant, along with the reason for requesting the information 

No    999 Study pending.

Kansas Members of the general public may inspect registration records No 350   Not known

Kentucky Available to law enforcement agencies only (separate statute allows 
daycares to screen employees) 

No    146 Not known
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STATE ACCESS TO INFORMATION CONFIDENTIALITY 
PROVISION 

NUMBER 
REGISTERED 

PERCENT 
COMPLIANCE 

Louisiana Mandatory community notification for all convicted sex offenders.  Sex 
offenders required to give notice by mail to at least one person in 
every residence and business within a one-mile radius in rural area 
and three square blocks in urban area of offender’s residence, and to 
superintendent of school district who shall notify the principal of 
relevant schools.  Additional community notification via newspaper 
publication. If the victim is under age 18, notice shall also be given to 
park, playground and recreational area superintendents within the 
designated area where the defendant will reside 

No 1,289 active cases; this 
includes 1,109 subject 
to public notification 

Estimated:   
registration = 98% - 99% 
public notification = 90% 

Maine Registration information available to the general public No 55 Not known 

Maryland The supervision agency, in some instances the courts, must notify the 
designated law enforcement agency of the child sex offender.  The 
designated law enforcement agency must notify the county 
superintendent of schools, who must, in turn, notify the school 
principals. The designated law enforcement agency must also notify 
the victim, the parents, any witness and any other person the State’s 
Attorney may designate in writing.  In addition, the designated law 
enforcement agency may notify local community organizations, 
religious organizations, and other organizations which relate to 
children and youth 

No   8 100%

Massachusetts Final version of bill has not been agreed to as of 7/19/96.  For more information contact:  Margot Friedman, Counsel; Senator Antonioni, Senate Chamber, State House,  
  Boston, MA 02133.  Phone: (617) 722-1230 

Michigan Available to law enforcement and investigative authorities only A person who divulges, uses, or 
publishes registration information is 
guilty of a misdemeanor punishable 
by up to 90 days imprisonment 
and/or up to $500 fine.  An offender 
whose registration is revealed has a 
civil cause of action against the 
responsible party 

10,800   Not known
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STATE ACCESS TO INFORMATION CONFIDENTIALITY 
PROVISION 

NUMBER 
REGISTERED 

PERCENT 
COMPLIANCE 

Minnesota Notification process is dependent upon the offender’s assessed level 
of risk to re-offend: low risk, information maintained within law 
enforcement agencies and may be disclosed to victims of or 
witnesses to the offense committed by the offender; moderate risk, 
law enforcement agencies may disclose information to agencies and 
groups that the offender is likely to encounter (public and private 
schools, day care facilities, and other agencies or groups dealing with 
children or women); high risk, law enforcement agencies also may 
disclose information to other members of the community whom the 
offender is likely to encounter 

Reference made to another section 
addressing "private data" 

4,700  80%

Mississippi Limited public notification dependent upon need to protect.  
Discretionary case specific authorization to release information to the 
public 

No    235 Not known

Missouri Available to courts, prosecutors, and law enforcement agencies No 2,600 70-80% 

Montana Limited notification dependent upon need to protect, a court order 
allowing the release of registration information must first be obtained. 
 If court order is obtained, possible method of notification may be in 
the form of a press release 

No Approximately 1,550 Not known 

Nebraska Restricted and provided only to law enforcement agencies or their 
authorized representatives 

No Not known Not known 

Nevada Notification process is dependent upon the offender’s assessed level 
of risk to re-offend: low risk, law enforcement agencies likely to 
encounter the sex offender must be notified; moderate risk, schools 
and religious and youth organizations must also be notified; high risk, 
the public must be notified through means designed to reach 
members of the public likely to encounter the person 

No Not known Not known 

New 
Hampshire 

Available to law enforcement and investigative authorities only A person who violates confidentiality 
provisions is guilty of a violation 

590 (includes those registered and those notified of 
their requirement to register; the computer program to 
monitor who has registered and compliance rates has 
not yet been completed) 
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STATE ACCESS TO INFORMATION CONFIDENTIALITY 
PROVISION 

NUMBER 
REGISTERED 

PERCENT 
COMPLIANCE 

New Jersey Notification process is dependent upon the degree of danger an 
offender presents to the community: low risk, notice provided only to 
victim and law enforcement agencies likely to encounter the offender; 
moderate risk, notice given to community organizations including 
schools, religious and youth organizations; high risk, subject to public 
notification, generally to those community members who are likely to 
encounter the offender.  Only high risk offender notices are open to 
general public 

No Not known Not known 

New Mexico Information not to be disseminated to persons or entities other than law 
enforcement agencies 

No.    50 Not known.

New York Notification process is dependent upon the degree of danger an 
offender presents to the community: low risk, notice to law 
enforcement; moderate risk, law enforcement may disseminate 
relevant information to any entity at risk, that entity may disclose 
information at their discretion; high risk offenders designated as 
sexually violent predators, add registration information available to 
public upon request in sexually violent predator sub-directory 

Class B misdemeanor for 
unauthorized release of information 

Not known Not known 

North Carolina Sex offender registration information and registry is public record, 
open for public inspection.  An individual may obtain registration 
information by providing the offender’s name, sex, physical 
description, and any other known relevant information.  Upon receipt 
of information from the requester, the sheriff shall verify to the 
requester, in writing, whether the individual has registered as a sex 
offender.  A copy of the entire registry may be provided to any group, 
entity, organization or school working with children, the disabled or 
elderly upon written request and payment of a fee 

No 20 (as of 1/29/96) 45% 

North Dakota Relevant and necessary registration information may be disclosed to 
the public by a law enforcement agency if the agency determines that 
the individual registered is a public risk and disclosure of the 
information is necessary for public protection 

No 230 (as of 1/18/96) Not known 

Ohio Available to law enforcement and investigative authorities only No Not known Not known 

Oklahoma Registration information may be released to public and private 
elementary schools, state licensed childcare facilities and providers, 
and entities that provide services to children 

Yes, a misdemeanor 1,489 with the DOC Not known 
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STATE ACCESS TO INFORMATION CONFIDENTIALITY 
PROVISION 

NUMBER 
REGISTERED 

PERCENT 
COMPLIANCE 

Oregon Notification process decided by agency supervising sex offender.  If 
offender classified as a predatory sex offender, the agency may 
release information to the public 

No 5,154 as of 1/17/96  
(1,435 post-sanction 
3,719 supervised) 

72% (post-sanction 
offenders) 

Pennsylvania Community notification regarding sexually violent predators issued as 
a means of assuring public protection.  Sexually violent predator 
information available to the public upon request 

No Not known Not known 

Rhode Island Available to law enforcement and investigative authorities only No Approximately 250 Not known 

South Carolina Available to law enforcement, investigate authorities, and those 
authorized by the court 

No 1,532 as of 1/96 Not known 

South Dakota Registration information and records are public records.  School 
superintendent or child welfare owner may request criminal records 
check 

No Not known Not known 

Tennessee The Tennessee Bureau of Investigation and law enforcement may 
release relevant information deemed necessary to protect the public 
concerning a specific sex offender 

No   1,682 89%

Texas Community notification via newspaper publication and notice to 
superintendent of public schools by mail.  Registration information 
available to the public 

Release of registration information to 
an unauthorized person is a Class B 
misdemeanor on reportable 
convictions between 9/1/91 - 
8/31/95; no penalty for convictions 
after 9/1/95 

10,430 as of 1/24/96 89% between 9/1/91 - 
8/31/95 

Utah Available to law enforcement agencies, the Department of Education, 
and the Department of Corrections 

No    3,500 Not known

Vermont The Department of Public Safety shall establish and maintain a sex 
offender registry.  Information contained in the registry shall be 
confidential and shall not be disclosed to any person, except: local, 
state, and federal law enforcement agencies; state and federal 
governmental agencies exclusively for conducting background checks; 
any employer, including a school district, when necessary to protect the 
public from a specific offender 

No Not known Not known 
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PROVISION 
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PERCENT 
COMPLIANCE 

Virginia Information disseminated upon request to criminal justice agencies, 
public and private schools, child welfare agencies, and daycares for 
screening possible employees or volunteers 

Unauthorized dissemination is a 
Class I misdemeanor 

3,145   Not known

Washington Recommended guidelines for notification are dependent upon the 
level of risk an offender poses to public safety: low risk (level 1), 
notice to law enforcement agencies; moderate risk (level 2), schools 
and neighborhood groups may also be notified; high risk (level 3), the 
public may be notified through press release 

A business or organization which 
obtains conviction information 
through a background check may 
not further disseminate or use the 
record; anyone who violates this is 
subject to a civil action for damages 

9,665  81%

West Virginia Available to law enforcement and investigative authorities only No Not known Not known 

Wisconsin Available to law enforcement and investigative authorities only Failure to keep information 
confidential may result in fine  of up 
to $500 and/or up to 30 days 
imprisonment 

Approximately 800 87% 

Wyoming Available only to persons authorized to receive criminal history record 
information 

No    343 Not known
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APPENDIX: Sex Offender Registration Statutes 
 
Alabama Code § 13A-11-200 to 13A-11-203 Nebraska Legislative Bill 645 (effective 1/1/97)

Alaska Statutes § 12.63.010 Nevada Revised Statutes § 207.151 to 207.157

Arizona Revised Statutes Annotated § 13-3821 to 13-3824 New Hampshire Revised Statutes Annotated § 213;1

Arkansas Statutes Annotated § 12-12-901 to 12-12-909 New Jersey Revised Statutes § 2C:52-2

California Penal Code § 290, 290.2, 290.3, and 290.4 New Mexico General Laws Chapter 106

Colorado Revised Statutes § 18-3-412.5 New York S.B. 11c and A.B. 1059c

Connecticut Statutes 54-102r North Carolina Senate Bill 53

Delaware Code Annotated, Title 11 § 4120 North Dakota Century Code § 12.1-32-15

Florida Statutes Annotated § 775.2 Ohio House Bill 180 (effective 1/1/97)

Georgia Code Annotated 42-9-44.1 Oklahoma Statutes, Title 57 Chapter 8B § 581 to 587

Hawaii Public Act 160 Oregon Revised Statutes § 181.518 to 181.519

Idaho Code § 18-8301 et seq. Pennsylvania Senate Bill 7

730 Illinois Compiled Statutes 150/1 et seq. Rhode Island General Laws § 11-37-16

Indiana IC 5-2-12 South Carolina Code Annotated § 23-3-400 to 23-3-490

Iowa General Laws Chapter 146 South Dakota Codified Laws § 22-22-31

Kansas Statutes Annotated § 22-4901 et seq. Tennessee Code Annotated § 38-6-110

Kentucky Revised Statutes, Chapter 17.510 Texas Revised Civil Statutes, Title 110A, Article 6252-13c.1

Louisiana Revised Statutes Annotated, Title 15 § 540-549 Utah Code Annotated § 77-27-21.5

Maine Revised Statutes Annotated, Title 34A § 11001 Vermont Senate Bill 217 (effective 9/1/96)

Maryland General Laws Chapter 142 Virginia Code Annotated § 19.2.390.1

Michigan Public Act 295 Washington Revised Code §§ 9A.44.130 and 9A.44.140

Minnesota Statutes § 243.166 West Virginia Code § 61-8F-2

Mississippi General Laws Chapter 515 Wisconsin Statutes § 175.45

Missouri Statutes §§ 566.600-566.625 Wyoming Statutes § 7-19-301 to 7-19-306

Montana Code Annotated § 46-18-254 and § 46-23-501 to 507
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