skip to main content
Washington State Institute for Public Policy
- Remove
- Remove
- Remove
From To
+ Add new line


Found 1 results

Designated Crisis Responders and Ricky's Law: Involuntary Treatment Investigation, Decision, and Placement

Open Publication PDF

Devin Bales, Anthony Ellis, Elizabeth Drake, Marna Miller - June 2021

Before 2016, two separate systems existed for the involuntary commitment of individuals in crisis due to mental health (MH) or substance use disorders (SUD). The 2016 Legislature passed E3SHB 1713—called “Ricky's Law”—to integrate both conditions into Washington’s existing Involuntary Treatment Act (ITA). The legislation required the Washington State Institute for Public Policy (WSIPP) to evaluate the changes resulting from Ricky’s Law.

As part of the integration, Ricky’s Law (1) created the designated crisis responders (DCRs)—a single professional designation responsible for conducting all ITA investigations, both MH and SUD, and (2) established Secure Withdrawal Management and Stabilization (SWMS) facilities. WSIPP interviewed DCRs from across the state to learn about their experience when determining whether to detain people under Ricky’s Law and whether to place people in SWMS facilities.

This report—the second in a series of three— provides an in-depth look at the integrated ITA detention and placement processes from the DCR perspective. We present themes from interviews conducted with DCR managers and DCRs throughout Washington. The interviews provide an understanding of the mechanisms that may affect outcomes, provide an on-the-ground perspective of the implementation and ongoing application of Ricky’s Law, and inform our approach for the third report.

Report ID: 21-06-3401

Filter By Topic
Benefit-cost analysis
Children’s services
Criminal justice: Adult corrections
Criminal justice: Juvenile justice
General government
Health care
Higher education
Mental health
Pre-K-12 education
Public health
Substance abuse

Filter By Author
Nathan Adams
Cory Briar
Julia Cramer
Colin Gibson
Rebecca Goodvin
Chasya Hoagland
Katelyn Kelley
Lauren Knoth-Peterson
Kara Krnacik
Stephanie Lee
Marna Miller
Catherine Nicolai
Amani Rashid
Morgan Spangler
Paige Wanner
Eva Westley
Corey Whichard
(show all authors)